Winter Veggie Feast.

CUPCAKE LOVE.jpg



mood board 2

 

  1. Photo by: Wendy Goodfriend – Cabbage
  2. Photo by: Eat and Arts photography – Potatoes
  3. Photo by Amirahislam – Carrots
  4. Photo by: Dina Avila – Onions
  5. Photo by: Galina Varese – Cauliflower
  6. Photo by: Matt Wright – Beetroot


“Did you ever stop to taste a carrot? Not just eat it, but taste it? You can’t taste the beauty and energy of the earth in a Twinkie.” – Terri Guillemets



Beating the Winter Chill. 

Us Melbournites know too well of the war against the unpredictable force that is Mother Nature. As my beloved winter season drew closer, and having just moved out on my own, I had found myself digging through my Mum’s old recipe books trying to pinpoint the best comfort food dish to help me fully appreciate the cold snap. However for some winter isn’t as much fun for them, as it is for me, and for those I still suggest digging through those classic recipes until you find that one dish that helps coax you through the long three months.

***

My search primarily motivated by a desire for some winter comfort, was also prompted by a feeling of nostalgia. So one particularly cold evening I was walking through the Franklin St. Aldi asking myself, “what would mum make me for dinner?” Admittedly I was struggling, because at the young age of 19 how does one replicate the warm, soothing sensation that only comes from a home cooked meal, served with a side of motherly affection? Pretty impossible when you’re still struggling to remember to separate your whites and darks when you do your washing.

Inspiration struck in the meat aisle, I suddenly remembered the staple sentence from  my childhood that so often followed the question “what’s for dinner,” and that sentence being, “bangers and mash.” Quickly I rounded up, a packet of beef sausages, and then all the wonderful winter veggies that reminded me of my childhood; potatoes, cauliflower, broccoli, peas, and onions. It was a strange thing to be this excited over a meal that I had detested a child, but as a dish that was easy enough for my dad, who frequently confused zucchini for cucumber, to make then I knew I was unlikely to screw it up! And secondly it reminded me of my favourite place, home.

It just so happened that it was the best dinner I had ever made for myself, and that winter was by far my favourite.

B.E Chapman.

 

IMG_4097.png
Just like Mum used to make – Photo by Bree E. Chapman
Leave a Reply

