3 Quick Recipes for an Autumn Sunday

I love Sundays because they are full of promise; the promise that in the week to come I will be organised, productive and healthy. The best thing is that on some weeks following a particularly darling Sunday off, I actually am.

This week I spent the morning at the Farmers’ Market (I really like the one on Mount Alexander Rd in Flemington, but check http://www.vicfarmersmarkets.org.au for the closest one to you) and the afternoon at home, pottering. I worked in the garden, and, inspired by the morning’s market haul, I put on a record and got my kitchen prep done for the week.

I find that knocking up a few staple items to keep in the fridge saves me loads of time during the hectic working week and means that I always have something nourishing to snack on.

This week, inspired by the cool change, I baked 2 of my favourite porridge toppers – Moroccan-style orangey rhubarb and some stewed apples with cinnamon and vanilla. I also made a zesty hummus to dollop on top of grainy, mixed leaf salads – the perfect lunch on the go.

 

Baked Rhubarb with Orange Blossom Water:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
  2. Wash a bunch of rhubarb and chop the stems into 4cm lengths.
  3. Toss rhubarb in 3 tablespoons of coconut sugar, a cap-full of orange blossom water and the zest and juice of an orange.
  4. Place on a baking tray and put in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until the rhubarb is soft.
  5. Allow to cool before transferring into a container.

 

Stewed Apples with Cinnamon and Vanilla:

  1. Peel 1 kg apples and chop into rough 1.5cm dice. I like using Granny Smiths best.
  2. Pop into a heavy-based pot on a medium heat with a stick of cinnamon, the scraped seeds of a vanilla bean, the zest and juice of a lemon and a tablespoon of coconut sugar.
  3. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the apples are tender.
  4. Allow to cool before transferring into a container.

 

Creamy, Lemony Hummus:

  1. Drain and rinse a can of chickpeas.
  2. Combine chickpeas in a food processor with 2 tablespoons of tahini, the juice of a lemon, a lug of olive oil, a pinch of salt and half a clove of garlic.
  3. Blend until smooth, adding a splash of iced water if needed.
  4. This will keep well in the fridge for up to a week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

