Biocheese, Yes Please!

I’ve been vegan now for almost four months – the only New Year’s resolution I’ve ever stuck with – and it’s been great. For the most part it’s super easy and yummy, and the only thing I’ve ever really missed is cheese. Not all cheese – just something gooey and stretchy and cheesy. There was a little while where I thought I’d never have another toasty or greasy pizza again, but then I discovered Biocheese.

cheese

Made mostly of coconut oil, it doesn’t have much nutritional value but it’s so good I don’t care. It comes in a block or a pack of slices and has two flavours: original or cheddar. The flavours are pretty much the same, except original is quite mild and cheddar is stronger.

You can probably do whatever you want with Biocheese and it’ll taste amazing. However, I find that it doesn’t have much flavour raw and that it’s best melted. It doesn’t melt under direct heat though; it needs something hot and heavy. But when it does melt it’s so cheesy and gooey you don’t even notice it’s not the real deal.

My favourite ways to eat it is in a toasty or on a pizza, and below are my tips for great vegan toasties and pizzas.

Either just on its own or with tomato, Biocheese is amazing in toasties, but you’ve got to make sure you really press down on it while its cooking. If you don’t, it just heats up but doesn’t actually melt. It should ooze out when you cut the toasty.

toasty

It’s great on pizza too, but you’ve got to do it right. I’ve done it cut up into little chunks and sprinkled on top but it didn’t melt and was very hit and miss while I was eating it. The best way I’ve found is to slice it very thin from the block – I use a vegetable peeler – and lay it on the bottom, under all your other toppings. That way it melts, and you don’t have to worry about it sliding off while you’re eating.

pizza

 

Biocheese should be available in most supermarkets and health food stores. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

