Confessions of a Mousse-aholic

If you know me, you will know that I’m addicted to chocolate mousse; you could say that I’m a mousse-aholic. I have distinct memories of my child-self in the supermarket aisle nagging my mother to buy me the four pack of mousse with Timon and Pumbaa from The Lion King on the packaging (seriously the best f*cking mousse I have tasted to this day). There is just something about the fluffy texture and gorgeously rich flavour of chocolate mousse that will always comfort me. So of course, one spring afternoon when I was browsing the internet (procrastinating) and I came across a chocolate mousse recipe which used ingredients I already had in the cupboard, I had to give it a shot. While it seems unlikely, it actually turned out to be super tasty and a great fix for those days where you just can’t bring yourself to look presentable enough to go to the supermarket, which is quite often for me. Plus, you get bragging rights because not everyone can whip up a wicked mousse in half an hour!

IMG_5643

Preparation time: 35 minutes + 4 hours to set    Eating time: 56 seconds

First, measure out your ingredients because timing is fairly important for this recipe.

You will need:

1/2 cup boiling water

2 teaspoons powdered gelatine

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

4 eggs, separated

1/3 cup caster sugar

Step one is to combine the water and gelatine in a jug and whisk with a fork until the gelatine has completely dissolved. Then stir in 1 1/2 tablespoons of cocoa (I use Cadbury Bournville Cocoa and I’ve found this to work best) . Once this is thoroughly mixed, set it aside to cool for 10 minutes or so (by the time you’ve mixed everything else up it will be the perfect temperature so always do this step first).

Step two is to beat the eggwhites in a large bowl using an electric mixer until soft peaks form. Then add the sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until the meringue is thick and glossy.

IMG_5627

Once this is done turn the mixer on high speed and add the egg yolks, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. If you’ve been careful not to add too much at a time, your mixture should still be nice and fluffy by the end of this step.

IMG_5628

Step three is the risky part so double check your chocolate mixture is cool enough before pouring it in (you don’t want gelatine lumps). Slowly pour your gelatine mixture into your egg mixture, beating constantly until well combined.

IMG_5633

Pour the mixture into serving cups; the original recipe says 6 but I’m greedy so I do 4 to give bigger servings.

IMG_5637

Refrigerate them for 4 hours or until set and chilled. You can dust the tops with the left over cocoa but I prefer to leave them as is.

IMG_5640

And that’s it! Give it a go yourself, I promise there will be zero regrets.

IMG_5650

If you’d like to see the original recipe without my wild ramblings you can find it here:

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/8004/light+chocolate+mousse

All text and images property of Christie McQualter

 

Leave a Reply

