PHO Wonderful

Pho (pronounced fo-uh) has been rising in popularity all over Melbourne for a couple of years now. I still remember the way my friend Kiki pretended to drool; mouth wide open, eyes half closed, to demonstrate the sheer pleasure she felt the first time she consumed a bowl during a trip to Asia. I have to admit, I was a little skeptical at first. After all, it’s just soup right?

pho1
Image source: http://www.brit.co

Fast forward five years later and my love affair with this traditional Vietnamese noodle soup has become borderline obsessive. When I’m not lining up at the local restaurant up the road from my house, you can find me scouring supermarket shelves for those perfect elements to add to my own homemade creation.

Pho ingredients
Image source: http://www.evakolenko.com

Traditionally, Pho stock is made using a variety of different elements including star anise, cassia bark, onions, garlic cloves, ginger, beef brisket, beef soup bones, fish sauce, palm sugar and salt, but the flavour can vary depending on which place you go to have it. There is also a chicken option and vegan/vegetarian options too.

Below is a list of my top 5 favourite Pho places around Melbourne that I frequently occupy.

I’ll be the girl in the corner with the curly brown hair and thick-rimmed glasses; face in a large steaming bowl, slurping away!

Veggie
Image source: http://www.weelicious.com
  1. Lam Lam, 209 High St, Northcote
  2. Uncle, 108 Carlisle St, St Kilda
  3. I Love Pho, 264 Victoria St, Richmond
  4. Hanoi Hannah, 108 High St, Prahran
  5. Pho La Que, 369 Brunswick St, Fitzroy
Leave a Reply

